National Forensic League “Code of Honor”

When team members earn 25 competition points, they are eligible for induction into the honor society of the National Forensic League.  This society is one of 6 major honor societies widely acknowledged and valued by colleges and universities throughout the United States.  Members are expected to adhere to the 5 core principles in all that they do both within and beyond speech and debate activities and competitions.

Here at Falcon Speech and Debate, these core principles are also conditions of team membership, and any student in violation of these principles is subject to removal from the team as well as expulsion from the honor society and revocation of all earned NSDA points.


“As a member of the National Speech & Debate Association, I pledge to uphold the highest standards of integrity, humility, respect, leadership and service in the pursuit of excellence.”

Integrity: An honor society member obeys the highest ethical standards and adheres to the rules of the organization. Members recognize that integrity is central to earning the trust, respect, and support of one’s peers. Integrity encompasses the highest regard for honesty, civility, justice, and fairness.

Humility: A member does not regard him or herself more highly than others. Regardless of a person’s level of success, he or she always looks beyond oneself to appreciate the inherent value of others.

Respect: A member respects individual differences and fosters diversity. He or she promotes tolerance, inclusion, and empowerment for people from a variety of backgrounds.

Leadership: A member influences others to take positive action toward productive change. Members commit to thoughtful and responsible leadership that promotes the other core values in the Code of Honor.

Service: A member exercises the talents he or she has been given to provide service to his or her peers, community, and the activity. At all times a member is prepared to work constructively to improve the lives of others.

Adopted September 23, 2007 © National Speech & Debate Association

Comments are closed.